User-oriented Planner for Learning Analysis and Design

From Design for Learning

Jump to: navigation, search

Lead Institution: Institute of Education LKL


Timescales: May 2006 to Feb 2008
(original timescale ended Feb 07, extension provided)


Project website: http://www.wle.org.uk/d4l


Aims and Objectives:

Aims: To help lecturers:

  • identify learner needs
  • design learning activities
  • asess learning outcomes

Objectives:

  • Provide tools for lecturers to plan courses and sessions
  • Provide a framework for lecturers to think explicitly about pedagogical approaches
  • Place lecturers in a community of practice where they can discuss and share learning designs


Project Manager: Professor Diana Laurillard, London Knowledge Lab

Project Team:

  • Professor Tom Boyle (TB) – Co-investigator, managing work within LMU, integration with other projects, t.boyle@londonmet.ac.uk; Director of the Learning Technology Research Institute, London Metropolitan University
  • Claire Bradley (CB) – User requirements capture and analysis, user evaluation of materials and tools prototypes, evaluation of existing case studies and exemplars for relevance, reports to team, assistance in workshop for other projects, c.bradley@londonmet.ac.uk; Research Fellow, LTRI, London Metropolitan University
  • Professor Diana Laurillard (DLa) – Principal Investigator, chair of project team, initial design of tools, managing work within IoE, integration with other projects, final report; d.laurillard@ioe.ac.uk; Chair of Learning with Digital Technologies, London Knowledge Lab, Institute of Education
  • Disi Lian (DLi) – Design and design develop the front-end User Interface and provide other technical advice for the development of tools. Support for development of tools, assist with technical integration, establishing links to other websites, D.Lian@ioe.ac.uk; Web Development Officer, Institute of Education.
  • Andrew Logue (AL) – technical support for integration of tools with LAMS environment, server assistance for use of LAMS, andrew@lamsinternational.com; UK Technical Manager, LAMS International
  • Tim Neumann (TN) – technical support for project website, technical support for adapting and integrating tools and case study material, T.Neumann@ioe.ac.uk; Learning Technology Fellow and Research Fellow, Institute of Education
  • Kevin Walker (KW) – Project manager, user requirements capture and analysis, user evaluation of materials and tools prototypes, evaluation of existing case studies and exemplars for relevance, reports to team, assistance in workshop for other projects, management of website, k.walker@ioe.ac.uk; Project Officer in Learning Design, London Knowledge Lab, Institute of Education

Collaborating staff:

  • Dr Will Gibson (WG) – Target user: advice on user needs, use and evaluation of tools and resources developed, W.Gibson@ioe.ac.uk; Course Director,Online MRes, Institute of Education.
  • Debbie Holley (DH) – Target user: advice on user needs, use and evaluation of tools and resources, d.holley@londonmet.ac.uk; Senior Lecturer, Department of Business and Service Sector Management, London Met
  • Harvey Mellar (HM) – Target user: advice on user needs, use and evaluation of tools and resources, h.mellar@ioe.ac.uk; Senior Lecturer in Educational Computing, and Director of the Learning Technologies, Institute of Education.
  • Dr Peter Oriogun (PO) p.oriogun@londonmet.ac.uk – Target user: advice on user needs, use and evaluation of tools and resources; Senior Lecturer, Software Engineering, London Met
  • Professor James Dalziel is Professor of Learning Technology and Director of the Macquarie E-Learning Centre Of Excellence, a research centre for e-learning infrastructure and application development. He is leader of LAMS, and will advise on future developments in relation to the recommendations in the final report.


Documents: